#WhyWasteItWednesdays: Tortilla Pizzas

I’m not sure if my pleasure for making dinner out of leftovers comes from my distaste in wasting food, or my love for a challenge.. either way, I love making these little guys. I open my fridge and and rummage through my leftovers and miscellaneous frozen vegetables I keep on tap. Possibilities are endless and all that leftover meat, produce, spaghetti sauce (I ALWAYS keep pesto), and whatever else doesn’t go to waste. What can’t go on a pizza? Nothing. The answer is nothing.
FullSizeRender 6

I use low-carb, high fiber tortillas made by La Banderita (any grocer). They have only 11g of carbs! Guilt free goodness right there.

 

 

 

This what I found tonight. Just giving a visual, but there is really no guidelines. Just think, good fats, good protein, good carbs. Sneaking in healthy extras is easy too. Think flax seeds, chia seeds, garlic cloves, fresh herbs, etc.

IMG_7148

Cooking Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Place toppings and sauce as desired. Not too thick though, you don’t want your tortilla to be soggy.
  3. Bake about 10-12 minutes or until edges are crisp
  4. To brown cheese if you have any, at the very end, turn off “bake” and turn on “broil” to 500, and keep a close eye for about 2 minutes.
  5. Let cool and slice. I always serve with a little vinegar and olive oil for dipping.

IMG_7149

 

Leave a Reply

